Resilience by Sarrah Hussain

Posted: April 14, 2016 in Artsy Poems, Blog Posts, Pictures
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As the sun set upon their house,

And the chores came to an end,

She sat beside her mother,

Looked intently at her with beady eyes,

Brows stitched together

And asked,

“Ma, your lineaments

Speak of a story.”

And she softly replied:

“I’m the earth, my darling.

An onrush of greenery

Withered by dust and rain;

Hollowed by shovels of pain.

These lines speak of how

I’ve fallen a multitude of times;

let wind carry dirt into my saline eyes;

Yet stood up all on my own.

I wear them with pride.”

Sarrah Hussain

Leave a Reply

