“You never really understand a person… until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.” 

And yesterday I heard the news, Harper Lee passed away. This year is filled with deaths of people in Literature and music world. I can’t even begin to understand why.

Is the world done with legends?

Are they not a part of us anymore?

More importantly, are we sure we can live in a world without them putting their art and words in our lives?

Harper Lee had a Tom boyish life when she grew up in Alabama, US. She died before she could celebrate her 90th Birthday. I guess all she wanted was to see the world in her perspective and she did, she wrote about all she felt growing up, and wrote about the life everyone was living. Differences are present in every century, in every culture, but to revolutionize thoughts every time someone is treated in  a way they feel alienated, is something Harper Lee accomplished.

IMG_0288.JPG

I’ve heard so many quotations from her first master piece over the years that have now become crystal clear and they give meaning to all she she wrote.

I’m positive that I don’t have a unique approach or thought that someone else hasn’t already articulated around. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of those books which is a legend in literary culture for standing apart thematically and stylistically.

harper-lee.jpg

“She was almost in love with him. No, that’s impossible, she thought: either you are or you aren’t. Love’s the only thing in this world that is unequivocal. There are different kinds of love, certainly, but it’s a you-do or you-don’t proposition with them all.”

The world isn’t done with legends yet, we are not saved yet. we are still lost souls looking for our missing puzzle piece, a place where we belong. A place where we are all treated equally and without any discrimination. Peace isn’t all we crave. We long for ‘belonging’

We long for our misplaced faith, we find it in the most uncertain of ways. Some might find it in love, some find it in the realms of chaos. Either way, you are bound to find your way. That’s why legends stay with us forever, I mean if I take out this book after ten or twenty years I will know exactly how it made me feel. And if I am blurry on the details, I will read it again. Someone would see me reading the book in my favorite coffee shop or a foodie place and they will be inclined to read it again too. And if not again, there is always a first time for everything.

And No, I am not okay with these legends going away from us. There is so much they could teach us, there is so much they could give us, so much they could say, so much they can write and all that is lost as they pass away. Then we miss them a little less every year.

May you rest in piece, our legend and I wish we are able to keep you in our thoughts and in our lives forever.

“I need a watchman to tell me this is what a man says but this is what he means, to draw a line down the middle and say here is this justice and there is that justice and make me understand the difference.”

Irum Zahra

Leave a Reply

