I stared at the intimidating skyscrapers; it felt like they were closing in on me. I, coerced by an impalpable battle of letting my worries go, swilled down my white mocha chocolate heartily. Somewhere between the tanginess of being an alien and unnoticeable intermittent twinges of homesickness, I tried to exchange smiles with the passing people. The wafting smell of Biryani from a nearby diner made its way through my nasal cavity, triggering my olfactory lobes waking the lately buried memories of my homeland. Somehow, I took control of my unbridled emotions and nostalgia, yelling to myself

“This is it”.

12495006_499276153578620_7720225470910002644_n.jpg

Shamama Shabbir for Beyond Sanity Publishing

Leave a Reply

