You left
When there was silence instead of laughter
And agony instead of peace
You left
When you had to nibble over the bits of words I spoke…
Whilst you preferred to choke over the long conversations
You left
When there was exasperation instead of affection
You left
When you found a hollow space to sink in with me
And not a beautiful meadow to walk
You left
When you saw my demons winning
And the terrible fears harassing my soul
You left
When you could no longer find a reason to laugh
While I was losing all the cards to live
You left
When you had to pull me from the dungeons
And thought you were the one on edge
You left … and never came back…
Or maybe it was I who made you go
And never called you back
But I could still hear the whines and calls
And full moon awful nights echoing with whimpers
You left and never came back
Or maybe I made you go and never called you back
But it was never a loathed relation
There was love not abhorrence
It could have been sorted and managed
And the agony and burn could have been healed
There had to be tears and complains and fights
But there was a dying sun waiting to be called back
You left and never came back
Or maybe I never called you
But now its too late and too dark honey
There is just this phoenix sitting on the old oak tree
Shedding the golden teary diamonds making the clay freshen
And as the moon comes out to brighten my land
There is a crane sitting alone just on my side
And the breeze blows bringing along evidence and white musk
An autumn leaf from the oak tree
Or a dead black rose from the bush
Settle on the tombstone and burn
You left and never cam back
Or maybe I never called you
You left
When there was no me and just a tombstone to sit beside
When there was regret and no sign of gratitude.

Poem By Areesh Fatmee For Beyond Sanity Publishing

Leave a Reply

