Review: The Little Red Book By William Watkins

Posted: August 7, 2015 in Blog Posts, Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

From the bestselling author of ‘You. Are. Not. Alone.‘ and ‘An Obsessive Infatuation‘, comes the next installment of the Diary Of The Heart series.

‘Little Red Book‘ presents W. R. Watkins in the most intimate way for you, the reader, by giving you a complete access into Watkins’ life over the past 12 months.

This anthology reflects all the highs and lows, Watkins’ personal thoughts and feelings, along with demonstrating his creative process when writing his poetry, making this Watkins’ most personal collection of work to date.

25113892

I loved this book. I’m gonna make a small list of poems I loved and why.
here it goes.

I read *End of the earth* 5 times It is so good. Loved it. It should be made into a song
*Scar* is more me, so I loved it too.
These next few poems: *Us, three words, your face and tattoo*…they feel perfect but it also feels as if they were in a perfect harmony.
*Still own my heart* in the day have a very nice relation to the past. I like them.
*Steal & I know you* should be together. I don’t know. Lol. I loved them so much.
Touching: *Black canvas and love notes*.

Perfection.
*Smoke and mirrors*: Made me picture the whole poem in a story.
*Love interest and in too deep* made me miss your previous two books
Did you write *secrets in the bedroom and scent* side by side? They look familiar and they seem part if the same story. In a good way that is. Keep them together.
Same thing happens with *concrete walls and be patient with me*. It is so so, good. I love the links between the poems.

*VOICES AND WHAT DID I SAY*. Epic. I freaked out. They are complete questions and answers.

*Search for love and wait for you*-Again the whole chain of events thing really kept me in the loop.
*Self and secrets and lies*  took me back to my book and the way I used to feel a few years before and I was so glad that I am done with that self-doubt and hate. I loved
*State of mind* outshines all poems from 2015 section. It is perfection.
Second came *disconnected thoughts*. It is so good. Dark and perfect
*Repeat after me* comes third.
Okay, so thing is, I love, love poetry. I love your words. You were one of the very first people to review my first book and I will be forever grateful for that.

This book is much better than the first two, as you said that there is no cutting and it is better. You know why?

Because poetry should be raw, real and flawed. That is what makes it inspiring and beautiful.

It showed how much you have grown as a person and as a writer. I loved it and thank you so much for trusting me with it
Good luck!

Irum Zahra for Beyond Sanity Publishing

Leave a Reply

