We promised to bring light to our Talented Pakistani gems and here is the first piece of a giant Puzzle. Adnan Ali is a 28 Years old Picasso with skills from Karachi. He is one of a kind. Let’s see his deepest inspirations.

So Adnan, What’s integral to the work of an artist?

I consider an artist’s work is a direct result of what drives them, of what the artist truly values and how they sees value in the creation around them. As Erwin McManus beautifully says in his book The Artisan Soul, “Art is an interpretation of life. Art is an expression of our emotions; art is an interpretation of our experiences; art in its highest form is a mirror of life. Thus, for me, what we hold in our heads, we try to portray that on the screen. It’s basically achieving what our imagination and how we fulfill that gap between the head and the screen. How perfectly we achieve to catch or make other to see through that mirror.

What role does the artist have in society?

 Learn to create peace and harmony. Art piece is simply not for entertainment it is also to broaden the perspective of life’s viewer.

 How has your practice change over time?

Yes, my practice has altered over time. Many flaws and weakness are recovered now. I see my today’s art work more detailed and more substantial than the previous work. Gradually we start shaping up in whatever we are practicing.

What’s your strongest memory of your childhood?

Haha..!! There are lots of but I remember the one clearly me and my younger sister use to watch wrestling, one day we plan to try it out at home so we climb up to the closet and jump from it to the mattress and I guess what we forgot it got springs in it, ha-ha you can imagine what had happened we both bounced, my sister bounced on the floor and I was stuck with the wall.

Who’s your favorite artist?

My favorite artists and inspiration is my master by whom I learned a lot and keep on learning is Saad Irfan, he is the most gifted person I come across his art and knowledge about is like a deep sea, Anas Riasat, Jibran Nasir, Shahan zaidi whose work are really my favorite and internationally I just love Dave Rapoza his work is marvelous he’s my biggest inspiration.

Describe a real-life situation that inspired you?

Well, yes whenever we meet people some left their imprints on our mind and some of them we hardly remember, teachers are the assets of a nation whose work is worth appreciating they unleashed our generation with the knowledge. I have seen my elder teaching and transferring whatever the artistic creation and knowledge they have to the coming generation which really inspires me and I also want to share my knowledge with the world whatever I have learned.

Why art?

Art develops a willingness to explore what has not existed before. Art is the definition of what is hidden in our head. Through art one can show what he/she just can’t define.

What is an artistic outlook on life?

  We are connected to each other with some mean. Everything is like little parts of a machine/cell working together to a destination. We are incomplete if any of the characters is missing. We are completing each other without recognizing it.

What do you like about your work?

 In my work I usually try to make things the way I assume them, making each of them with a different perspective that’s what I like about my work. Trying out something fresh, each time.

Should art be funded, explain with reference to Pakistan.

Art defines culture, without culture no society exists. Each land has its own some heritage of art which depicts culture. We discover and transfer art generation to generation for which it requires funding. Art suffers in Pakistani society due to lack of knowledge and less investment. Then it definitely requires funding.

What superpower would you have and why?

Flash’s superpower, To make my family, acquaintances and clients happy I have to manage time for that purpose.

Name something you love, and why. Name something you don’t love, and why.

I love to learn new things which enhance my knowledge; I always try new things as it gives me new ideas and ways. I don’t appreciate the mentality that expensive gadget/ tools do wonders, no, that’s your potential which does wonders nothing else.

 What is your dream project?

Yes my dream is to work on a project with the team of “Steambot” studio.

Where are you finding ideas for your work these days?

 Now days I take ideas and inspiration from movies and games and also from my favorite artists.

What’s the first artwork you ever sold? LOL..!! In childhood I use to watch one TV show “Beavis and Butt head” so I use to draw its cartoon. One of my cousin also use to like that show when he saw that cartoon he asked me, I said “NO” then he said give it in 15 Rupees. I made the deal and that was my first artwork I ever sold. Ha-ha.

Thank you so much Adnan, We hope to see so much more of your work in the future!

Here are a few:

My Personal Favorite: Marilyn Manson

Marilyn Mansonspawn6ConstantineOnePunchChicky_GraphicComic

Leave a Reply

