Review of Psychaotic By Dawn

Posted: February 23, 2015 in Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
The author kindly sent me a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

I haven’t read much poetry since I left school. I’ve wanted to, but haven’t really known where to start.
So, when Irum Zahra contacted me and asked if I would like to read her book, I said “Yes, thank you very much!”.

The first thing I should mention is that I read this too fast! I didn’t give myself time to reflect on each poem – I just wanted more. This is a good thing for me, as it means I can re-read and savour each poem – maybe limit myself to one or two per day.

I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of reading this book. The over-whelming feelings in the poems are pain and anger, but there’s also some hope – for me, I saw that even negatives (like the pain and anger) can have their own kind of beauty. This is something I’d never considered before.

My favorite poem was “A world without blood”. Very fitting for today’s world.

Anyone looking to get started with reading poetry should pick up this book before looking elsewhere. For readers with more experience of poetry – you should pick it up too!

Leave a Reply

